Oregon Residents and Border Bill information

We're closer than you think

Many Portland/Vancouver metropolitan residents have discovered WSU Vancouver's easy access from I-5 and I-205. Check out our campus location and see how close we are to you.

Located just minutes north of Portland, Washington State University Vancouver offers 19 bachelor's degrees, nine master's degrees, two doctorate degrees, and more than 37 fields of study. Learn more about our academic programs.

Oregon students

Non-resident Freshman, Transfers, and Graduate Students who attend WSU Vancouver are from:

Portland, Beaverton, Troutdale, Hood River and Gresham.

Financial aid, application and deadlines

Pay resident tuition rates

Border Bill: The State of Washington's "Border Bill" is a program that allows Oregon residents who live in specified counties to attend WSU Vancouver and/or Tri-Cities part-time (8 credits or less per semester) and pay resident tuition rates for the courses taken through these two WSU campuses ONLY.

Border Bill Application (PDF)

The specific Oregon counties whose residents are eligible for this benefit are:

Clackamas, Clatsop, Columbia, Gilliam, Hood River, Morrow, Multnomah, Sherman, Umatilla, Union, Wallowa, Wasco, Washington

Move to Washington and you may still qualify for resident tuition rates

Effective fall semester 2009, the Border Bill has been expanded to include individuals who relocated from one of the eligible Oregon counties to the state of Washington within the previous 12 months. See restrictions on the Border Bill Application (PDF).