Community College President's Award

Leadership and service

The Community College President's Award is designed for transfer students who have leadership potential, are community-service oriented and have an excellent GPA.

Students are nominated by their community college’s president and receive a renewable full resident tuition award. (This award cannot combine with other waiver programs over the cost of tuition and fees.)

We accept nominations every year from:

  • Centralia College
  • Clark College
  • Lower Columbia College

Contact your community college President’s Office for nomination information.

2018/19 recipients

Heather Beaird

Heather Beaird

Centralia College

Beaird credits her family with helping her get through school. She is the single mother of a 13-year-old son who, she said, inspires her to do her best. They live with her mother, whose support enables her to study and volunteer in the community. Beaird is involved with both local and state PTA. She was on the board of the Lewis County Historical Society, wrote background materials for its Indian Gallery and served as a docent. She worked with the George Washington Bicentennial Committee in honor of Centralia’s founder, who was a leading African American pioneer of the Pacific Northwest. She also helped get the Lewis County Historic Courthouse listed on the National Register of Historic Places. In 2018, Beaird completed her A.A. degree at Centralia while serving as an officer for the Phi Theta Kappa honor society and as a student leader. She plans to earn a doctorate in history and teach at the college level.

Clinton Howard

Clinton Howard

Lower Columbia College

A first-generation, low-income student, Clinton Howard enrolled at Lower Columbia College in 2016 and quickly distinguished himself. He was the 2017 president of Phi Theta Kappa honor society and its 2018 vice president of service. He was also LCC’s student body president and active on numerous college committees. His extensive community involvement includes helping to establish a literacy program and partnership with St. Helens Elementary School in Longview, Wash., a rebuilding project related to Hurricane Harvey in Texas, and advocacy with the Washington State Legislature for funding for low-income college students. Among several awards, he was selected for the 2018 All-Washington Academic Team and the national Coca-Cola Academic Team. At WSU Vancouver, he is pursuing a degree in organizational psychology.

Grace Moe

Grace Moe

Clark College

Ever since starting school, Moe dreamed of earning a bachelor’s degree. In the fall of 2016, she entered the Running Start program. Wanting to do more for her community and school, she ran for student government at Clark College and eventually became student body president. She continued to volunteer and work while completing her A.A. degree in business administration. At WSU Vancouver, she intends to earn that coveted bachelor's degree with a double major in finance and marketing.

Prior award recipients

Prior Community College President's Award recipients
Recipient College Year
Josiah J. Corwin Centralia College 2017/18
Nicholas Freese Clark College 2017/18
Andrew Jaspers Lower Columbia College 2017/18
Tanner Byman Lower Columbia College 2016/17
Elsa Gomez Portland Community College 2016/17
Bailey Peters Centralia College 2016/17
Nuvia Ramirez-Romero Mt. Hood Community College 2016/17
Holly Varner Clark College 2016/17
Cheyenne DeFrates Lower Columbia College 2015/16
Alseny Diallo Portland Community College 2015/16
Kathy Fockler Clark College 2015/16
Joscha Oswald Centralia College 2015/16
Skye Troy Mt. Hood Community College 2015/16
Yesenia Herrera Portland Community College 2014/15
Natasha Hambrook Clark College 2014/15
Beija Robbins Mt. Hood Community College 2014/15
Rashida Ullah Centralia College 2014/15
Anna Davis Lower Columbia College 2014/15
Momodou Musa Bah Portland Community College 2013/14
Ramona Vercher Clark College 2013/14
Brett Merritt Lower Columbia College 2013/14
Antonio Guerrero Mt. Hood Community College 2013/14
Travis Kinney Centralia College 2013/14
Hoa Le Lower Columbia College 2012/13
John Hoffman Centralia College 2012/13
Britany Martin Portland Community College 2012/13
Tami Eldridge Clark College 2012/13
Beatriz Madriz-Rodriguez Mt. Hood Community College 2012/13
Inva Begolli Clark College 2011/12
Nicole Buckner Portland Community College 2011/12
Margaret Debevec Centralia College 2011/12
Tia Glover Mt. Hood Community College 2011/12
Brian Jurvakainen Lower Columbia College 2011/12
Sheila Rae Henrickson Clark College 2010/11
Melissa Knudson Lower Columbia College 2010/11
George W. Lewis III Mt. Hood Community College 2010/11
Hanna Mekonen Portland Community College 2010/11
Daniel Morrison Centralia College 2010/11
Dora Hernandez Clark College 2009/10
Janine Johnston Mt. Hood Community College 2009/10
Golnaz Koloushani Centralia College 2009/10
Jeffrey Northington Lower Columbia College 2009/10
Henry Ortega Portland Community College 2009/10
Cynthia Bergman Centralia College 2008/09
Angela Dahlke Lower Columbia College 2008/09
Marneet Lewis Portland Community College 2008/09
Kenneth Nyholm Clark College 2008/09
Nicole Chittock Lower Columbia College 2007/08
Carol Lopez-Gustin Clark College 2007/08
Victor McBrooks Portland Community College 2007/08
Stanley Noga Centralia College 2007/08
Vanessa Brockman Centralia College 2006/07
Asalie Groff Lower Columbia College 2006/07
Pamela Sullivan Clark College 2006/07
Maria Cook Centralia College 2005/06
Sherry Murphy Clark College 2005/06
Steven Gresswell Clark College 2005/06
Jennifer McLean Lower Columbia College 2005/06
Veronica Ross Portland Community College 2005/06